Not all families have the resources to allow each and every child to have their own room. Here is everything you need to know about whether or not Child Protective Services (CPS) requires children to have their own rooms.
While Child Protective Services does not require children to have their own room, there are certain rules about who can and cannot share bedrooms.
Does Child Protective Services (CPS) Require Children to Have Their Own Rooms?
The short answer is no, Child Protective Services does not require children to have their own rooms. However, there are some rules about who can and cannot share bedrooms.
1. No More Than 2 People Per Bedroom
A bedroom should generally not have more than two children in it. Most states have a “2+1” occupancy limit that states that two people can share a bedroom, and one person can sleep in a living space.
2. Boys and Girls Age 5+ Should Not Share a Room
CPS usually does not approve of children of opposite genders sharing rooms after age 5. If one sibling is over the age of 5, it is suggested that they move into their own room. If a family has one child of each gender, the answer to the question would be “yes.”
3. Adults and Children Should Not Share Rooms
A child should not share a bedroom with an adult unless that child is an infant. The only other exception to this is minor parents, who may share a room with their child. This rule also states that there should never be more than two adults and two children sleeping in one bedroom.
4. Bedrooms Must Meet Minimum Safety Requirements
All rooms being used as bedrooms must have windows that can be opened in case of an emergency. Use of closets, hallways, and other spaces is usually discouraged as it can pose a safety hazard in the case of fires, earthquakes, or other emergencies.
5. Each Child Should Have a Safe Bed to Sleep In
Each child should have their own bed with clean and proper pillows, linens, mattresses, and blankets. Infants under 18 months should sleep in cribs with no blankets, pillows, stuffed animals, etc. Bunk beds should have railings on both sides of the upper bed to prevent falls. It is advised that children under 6 years old should not have the top bunk.
FAQs About If CPS Requires Children to Have Their Own Rooms
Can CPS take my children if they live in 1 room in California?
While CPS does have the authority to take children from living situations they deem unfit, it is very unlikely that they will take children from a home for the sole reason of children sharing a room when they are not supposed to. CPS will usually instruct families to fix such conditions and connect them to resources before taking any further action.
Is there ever an age when all children should have their own room?
While it is suggested that children above age 16 should have their own room, that is not always feasible for families due to money or space. Child services will not be called and will not be upset if two siblings of the same gender are sharing a bedroom at any age, no matter how old they get. As long as the children sharing a room get along well and there are no major issues, there is nothing wrong with keeping them in the same room.
If you or a loved one is seeking more information on whether or not CPS requires children to have their own rooms, contact us. We’ll get you in touch with the most qualified attorney for your unique legal matter. Get your free consultation with one of our California Family Law Attorneys today!