What You Need to Know About Wage Claim in Georgia
Individuals who feel that they have experienced a form of wage theft by their employer can file a wage claim. Here’s what you need to know about filing a wage claim in Georgia.
Georgia’s minimum wage is $7.25. Employees who are not paid on time can file a wage claim against their employer.
Georgia Wage Laws
Georgia follows federal wage and wage laws. The basic minimum wage is $5.25 per hour for employers with more than 6 employees. The minimum wage in Georgia is $7.25 for employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
Forms of Wage Theft in Georgia
It is important to recognize what wage theft looks like. These are the different forms but are not limited to:
- Employer ignores their duty to pay the minimum wage rate
- Make illegal deductions from employee paychecks
- Withhold earned commissions, benefits, or overtime rates
- Misclassify employee duties and job descriptions to skirt wage and hour laws
Related: Georgia Employment Law FAQs
How to File a Wage Claim in Georgia
If you are a victim of wage theft, you can file a complaint to the Wage and Hour Division of the U.S. Department of Labor.
Once you’ve decided to file a complaint to the Wage and Hour Division, you need to compile important information necessary when filing.
Necessary information includes:
- Your name
- Your address and phone number
- The name of the company where you work
- Location of the company
- Phone number of the company
- Manager or owner’s name
- Type of work you did
- How and when you were paid (e.g., cash or check, every Friday)
After gathering the necessary information, you can decide whether to file the wage complaint online or call 1-866-487-9243.
The Wage and Hour Division will then contact you in order to start the investigation process. A wage claim does not have a set time period due to the different circumstances each employee files.
What Is the Statute of Limitation for Wage Claims in Georgia?
According to Georgia law, an individual has two years from the date of the incident to file a wage claim.