What You Need to Know About Taking Time off Work in Illinois
Different states have varying regulations regarding paid and unpaid time off. Here’s everything you need to know about taking time off work in Illinois.
Illinois Leave of Absence Laws
Family and Medical Leave
The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) requires employers to give employees up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave to care for a sick family member and up to 26 weeks to care for a seriously injured military family member. This law applies to employers with more than 50 employees.
All employers must provide reasonable accommodation to pregnant employees to help them continue to perform their jobs. Employers may have to provide unpaid leave when necessitated by pregnancy, childbirth, and medical or common conditions resulting from pregnancy or childbirth.
Military Family leave
Illinois employers with at least 15 employees are required to give employees who have worked at least one year at their workplace leave to be with their military spouse or family member.
School Activities Leave
Employees who have worked at least six consecutive months are entitled to eight hours of unpaid leave to attend school conferences and other activities for their children.
Illinois allows employees to take time off to vote and protects them against retaliation or wrongful termination.
Employers must allow employees to take off for jury duty and may not take their salary or benefits for attending jury duty.
Domestic Violence Leave
In Ilinois, employers with at least 50 employees must give employees who are victims of domestic violence or sexual violence time off to:
- get medical treatment
- seek services from a victim services organization
- engage in safety planning, relocate, or otherwise take steps to increase the victim’s safety
- secure legal assistance or remedies.
Employees are entitled to this leave if they have worked for at least 12 months and have been domestic or sexual violence victims.