What You Need to Know About Pennsylvania’s Car Accident Laws

Pennsylvania has several car accident-related laws to ensure individuals receive compensation for accidents, and unsafe drivers are penalized. Here’s everything you need to know about car accident laws in Pennsylvania.

Pennsylvania allows drivers to choose whether to purchase no-fault or fault-based insurance coverage for auto accidents. Receiving compensation for car accidents in Pennsylvania will depend on what type of insurance the driver purchased.

Insurance Laws in Pennsylvania

All drivers in Pennsylvania are required to carry liability insurance that covers bodily injuries and property damage sustained by someone other than the insurance holder. There are minimum required amounts of liability coverage for different types of damages that each driver must have.

Bodily injury or death of one person in an accident must have $15,000 in coverage. There must be at least $30,000 in coverage for total bodily injury or total death in an accident. Lastly, drivers in Pennsylvania must have at least $5,000 in courage for property damage per accident.

Pennsylvania is different than most states because it is neither a no-fault nor a fault-based state when it comes to auto accidents. Therefore individuals have the option to purchase either no-fault insurance or fault-based insurance.

Related: How to Prove an Injury Is From a Car Accident

Determining Fault for Car Accidents in Pennsylvania

If drivers in a car accident have no-fault insurance coverage, they will turn to their own insurance companies to get compensation for their injuries and damages.

If drivers have purchased fault-based insurance coverage they will go to court to determine who is at fault and must pay. Pennsylvania follows a ‘modified comparative fault’ rule meaning the damages awarded will be reduced by a percentage equal to the plaintiff’s share of fault. The court does this by calculating the dollar amount of the plaintiff’s damages as well as the percentage of fault that each party is responsible for and applying it to the final awarded amount.

If a driver is found to be more than 50 percent at fault they will not receive anything for their damages.

Statute of Limitations for Car Accidents in Pennsylvania

A statute of limitations for car accidents in Pennsylvania will determine how much time an individual has to file for a car accident or personal injury lawsuit. Pennsylvania states that a lawsuit must be filed within two years if anyone was injured or killed in a car accident.

Related: Who’s At Fault in Pile-Up Accidents?

In most cases, the statute of limitations will begin on the date the accident occurred. However, if a car crash resulted in an individual’s death and a representative plans to file a lawsuit, the statute begins on the date of the victim’s death.

Contact Us

If you or a loved one would like to learn more about Pennsylvania Car Accident Laws, get your free consultation with one of our Personal Injury Attorneys in Pennsylvania today!