What You Need to Know About Georgia Paycheck Laws

A paycheck is vital to many people’s employment, so it’s critical to understand the laws around getting paid in your state. Here’s everything you need to know about Georgia paycheck laws.

The Georgia Department of Labor enforces Georgia paycheck laws and protects workers by establishing regulations that include acceptable methods of payment and a minimum frequency for payment.

Minimum Wage in Georgia

Georgia’s state minimum wage is $7.25 an hour, the same as the current federal minimum wage. Exceptions to Georgia’s minimum wage include:

  • Employers are allowed to pay a new employee under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for their first 90 days of employment.
  • Employers can pay full-time high school or college students that work part-time 85% of the Georgia minimum wage for up to 20 hours of work per week.
  • This only applies to specific employers, like university work-study programs.
  • Employees who earn a certain amount in monthly tips may receive a lower minimum wage (as long as their earnings come to $7.25 an hour.)

Pay Frequency Laws in Georgia

Employers in Georgia are required to pay employees at least semimonthly, with a regular payday.

There are exemptions to this law for some executives, professionals, or administrative employees. Because the minimum pay frequency law protects hourly and at-will or non-contract employees, higher level contractually bound employers may pay their employees monthly or annually per contract. There are exemptions for outside salespeople, who often receive pay by commission.

Additionally, companies in the sawmill, farming, and turpentine industries are exempt from this requirement.

Methods of Payment in Georgia

Georgia employers are required to pay employees in one of the following ways:
– Cash
– Check
– A payroll card account when employers provide employees with a written explanation of fees associated with using the account at least 30 days before the payroll card account becomes available
– Direct deposit when the employee has consented to receive payment this way. Employers cannot require employees to accept payment by direct deposit.

Employers in Georgia are not required to provide workers with pay stubs or statements of wages paid, rates used, deductions made, or any other information.

FAQs About Georgia Paycheck Laws

When should I get my final paycheck if I leave my Georgia job?

If your employer fires you, you voluntarily quit or resign, you stop working due to a labor dispute/strike, or you are laid off temporarily, your employer must give you your final paycheck. You must receive the paycheck no later than the first day of your final pay period.

Am I entitled to overtime pay in Georgia?

Yes—according to the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), most hourly employees in Georgia are entitled to an overtime pay rate for any hours over 40 in one work week (seven consecutive work days). There’s no daily overtime limit, but the overtime minimum wage for when someone has worked beyond 40 hours a week is $10.88 an hour.

Are any exemptions made to the FLSA’s overtime pay requirements in Georgia?

Yes—executive, administrative, professional, and outside sales employees are exempt from overtime pay requirements as long as they are compensated “on a salary basis” and meet certain requirements about job duties.

Other commonly used exemptions include those made for certain computer professionals paid at least $27.63 per hour, farmworkers employed on small farms, drivers, driver’s helpers, loaders, and mechanics who meet certain specific qualifications.

Contact Us

If you or a loved one would like to learn more about Georgia Paycheck Laws, get your free consultation with one of our Employment Attorneys in Georgia today!