What You Need to Know About Georgia Employee Overtime

Here’s what you need to know about employee overtime in Georgia.

What does Georgia consider overtime?

Georgia’s Department of Labor (DOL) follows the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) requirement of overtime pay. In Georgia, employees must receive overtime pay if they work more than 40 hours a week.

Related: Georgia Employment Law FAQs

How much overtime can a Georgia employer give employees?

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) states employers must pay their employees 1.5 times their rate of pay. The minimum wage in Georgia is $7.25 for employers subject to the FLSA. Therefore, an employee who earns the minimum wage of $7.25 per hour must be paid $10.88 per hour for their overtime.

Who qualifies for overtime in Georgia?

Employees qualify for overtime if they exceed 40 hours of work in a single week.

Who is exempt from overtime pay in Georgia?

These are the workers in certain positions who are exempt from overtime pay:

  • Executive
  • Administrative
  • Professional
  • Outside sale positions

Can I receive overtime on holidays in Georgia?

Under Georgia law, employers are not required to provide unpaid or paid benefits on holidays.

Related: Georgia Minimum Wage FAQs

What are violations of the Fair Labor Standards Act in Georgia?

These are some violations of the FLSA but are not limited to:

  • Preventing employees from receiving tips
  • Lying about an employee being eligible for overtime
  • Making deductions from paychecks

Contact Us

If you or a loved one would like to learn more about Georgia Employee Overtime FAQs, get your free consultation with one of our Employment Attorneys in Georgia today!