Receiving an abortion can seem overwhelming and stressful. Here’s everything you need to know about abortion laws in North Carolina.

North Carolina imposes restrictions on abortion providers, in addition to traditional healthcare provider requirements regarding federal and state regulations governing health, safety, building and fire codes, and zoning requirements.

North Carolina’s Current Restrictions on Abortion

In North Carolina, the following restrictions on abortion effectuated on January 1, 2022:

  • A minor’s parent must consent before an abortion procedure.
  • A patient must receive state-directed counseling, including information designed to discourage the patient from having an abortion and wait 72 hours before the procedure.
  • A patient must undergo an ultrasound before obtaining an abortion.
  • Health plans offered in North Carolina’s health exchange under the Affordable Care Act can only cover abortion in cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.
  • Insurance policies for public employees only cover abortion in life endangerment, rape, or incest cases.
  • North Carolina prohibits abortions performed for sex selection.
  • North Carolina prohibits telemedicine use to administer medication for abortion.
  • North Carolina requires abortion clinics to meet strict standards related to their physical plant, equipment, and staffing.
  • Performing at or after viability can only occur in life endangerment cases, or the expectant mother has severely compromised health.
  • Public funding is only available for abortion in life endangerment, rape, or incest cases.

FAQs About Abortion Laws in North Carolina

What is North Carolina’s post-viability ban?

North Carolina’s post-viability abortion restriction states no abortion may occur after 20 weeks of pregnancy unless there is a “substantial risk” that continuing the pregnancy would threaten the woman’s life or “gravely impair” her health.

What is the reason-based ban in North Carolina?

North Carolina bans abortion if the provider has knowledge or an objective reason to believe the pregnancy’s sex is highly influencing the woman’s decision to abort. The law includes a right of action for the woman, the spouse or guardian of the woman, or her parents if she is a minor.

Does North Carolina’s health insurance cover abortions?

North Carolina’s health insurance does not cover abortion costs. Health insurance policies within North Carolina’s health insurance exchange may not include abortion coverage, except to save a woman’s life or if the pregnancy results from rape or incest. Nothing in the law prohibits purchasing abortion coverage outside the exchange through an optional rider, with an additional premium to pay.

Contact Us

If you or a loved one would like to know more about abortion laws in North Carolina, get your free consultation with one of our family law attorneys today!